Islamic Laws

Obligatory Namaz

The following six prayers are obligatory:

Daily Namaz.



Namaz for the obligatory Tawaf of the holy Ka'bah.

Qadha Namaz of father which are, as a precaution, obligatory upon his eldest son.

Namaz which become obligatory on account of hire, vow or oath.

Namaz-e-Jumuah is included in the Daily Namaz.

Obligatory daily Namaz

It is obligatory to perform the following five prayers during day and night:

Dawn prayers (Fajr) - 2 Rak'ats.

Midday (Zuhr) and Afternoon prayers ('Asr) - each one consisting of 4 Rak'ats.

Dusk prayers (Maghrib) - 3 Rak'ats and Night prayers ('Isha) - 4 Rak'ats.

736. While travelling, a traveller should reduce the prayers of 4 Rak'ats to 2 Rak'ats. The conditions under which the Rak'ats are reduced will be mentioned later.